You are reading

Alternate side parking suspension calendar for 2024

Dec. 28, 2023 By Anthony Medina

Alternate side parking rules, congestion pricing, toll hikes and other fees make car ownership costly and burdensome in the five boroughs.  Many New Yorkers, as a result, stick with using a Metro Card. 

However, there’s something to look forward to for car owners in 2024, and that is the holidays and the Alternate Side Parking Rule Suspension Calendar. Afterall, the fine for failing to move a vehicle during designated alternate side parking hours is $65.

Here’s a list of the dates when alternate side parking will be suspended in 2024: 

  • Monday, Jan. 1: New Year’s Day
  • Saturday, Jan. 6: Three Kings’ Day
  • Friday, Feb. 9: Lunar New Year’s Eve
  • Saturday, Feb. 10: Lunar New Year
  • Monday, Feb. 12: Lincoln’s Birthday
  • Wednesday, Feb. 14: Ash Wednesday
  • Monday, Feb. 19: Washington’s Birthday (President’s Day)
  • Sunday, March 24: Purim
  • Thursday, March 28: Holy Thursday
  • Friday, March 29: Good Friday
  • Wednesday, April 10 and Thursday, April 11: Idul-Fitr (Eid Al-Fitr)
  • Tuesday, April 23, and Wednesday, April. 24: Passover
  • Monday, April 29 and Tuesday, April 30: Passover (7th/8th Days)
  • Thursday, May 2: Holy Thursday (Orthodox)
  • Friday, May 3: Good Friday (Orthodox)
  • Thursday, May 9: Solemnit of the Ascension
  • Monday, May 27: Memorial Day
  • Wednesday, June 12, and Thursday, June 13: Shavuoth (2 Days)
  • Monday, June 17, and Tuesday, June 18: Idul-Adha (Eid Al-Adha)
  • Wednesday, June 19: Juneteenth
  • Thursday, July 4: Independence Day
  • Tuesday, Aug. 13: Tisha B’Av
  • Thursday, Aug. 15: Feast of the Assumption
  • Monday, Sept. 2: Labor Day
  • Thursday, Oct. 3, and Friday, Oct. 4: Rosh Hashanah
  • Saturday, Oct. 12: Yom Kippur
  • Monday, Oct. 14: Columbus Day
  • Thursday, Oct. 17 and Friday, Oct. 18: Succoth (2 Days)
  • Thursday, Oct. 24: Shemini Atzereth
  • Friday, Oct. 25: Simchas Torah
  • Friday, Nov. 1: Diwali and All Saint’s Day
  • Tuesday, Nov. 5: Election Day
  • Monday, Nov. 11: Veterans Day
  • Thursday, Nov. 28: Thanksgiving Day
  • Monday, Dec. 9: Immaculate Conception
    Wednesday, Dec. 25: Christmas Day

Recent News

Beloved Howard Beach tapas restaurant Saffron will close its doors in March after 15 years in business

Feb. 22, 2024 By Athena Dawson

Beloved Howard Beach fixture Saffron has announced it will close its doors on Sunday, Mar. 24th. The Mediterranean restaurant- located at 161-50 Crossbay Blvd.- specializes in Spanish tapas and innovative fusion cuisine, featuring an array of vibrant seafood, veggie and meat tapas and various paella dishes. The family and chef owned restaurant boasts flamenco nights for diners to enjoy during select dinner services.